Skip to main content

Air Quality | Nonattainment Areas

Nonattainment areas are classified by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to have air quality monitoring data for criteria pollutants above the National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS), which are outlined in the Clean Air Act. These areas are designated conservatively and are not necessarily exceeding
NAAQS every day | See Today's Air Quality Forecast > 

The following is a list of the nonattainment areas listed by county:

Cochise County

Gila County 

Maricopa County

Pinal County 

Pima County

Santa Cruz County 

Yuma County 

Counties with no nonattainment areas at this time:

  • Apache County
  • Coconino County
  • Graham County
  • Greenlee County
  • La Paz County
  • Mohave County 
  • Navajo County
  • Yavapai County

National Ambient  Air Quality Standards

EPA Nonattainment Areas for Criteria Pollutants | Learn More >

Unfamiliar with some of the acronyms or technical terms used on this page?

Visit our glossary | View Glossary >