Skip to main content

Voluntary Vehicle Repair Program Overview

Vehicle Emissions Control Section

Voluntary Vehicle Repair Program (VVRP) Overview

Revised on: June 28, 2024 - 10:08 a.m.

The Voluntary Vehicle Repair Program (VVRP) pays up to $900 toward the cost of emissions-related vehicle repairs after a failed emissions test.

Participants must meet program requirements and pay a $100 co-pay toward repairs.

Program Eligibility Requirements

VVRP can only approve applications that meet ALL of the following legal requirements listed in the Arizona Revised Statute (ARS) 49-558.02:

  • The applicant must be the registered owner of the vehicle with the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) and not already have participated in VVRP with another vehicle.
  • The vehicle is not a salvage vehicle, a motor home, motorcycle, or fleet vehicle.
  • The vehicle must have received and failed a required emissions inspection test.
  • Emissions test failure cannot be more than 90 days prior to the vehicle’s registration expiration date.
  • The vehicle owner must apply to VVRP no more than 60 days after failing their required emissions test.
  • The vehicle is titled in Arizona and has been registered in Arizona during the immediately preceding 12 months, and the vehicle registration has not been expired for more than 60 days.
  • The emissions control system has not been altered or tampered with.

After failing an emissions test, apply online in English >
Después de fallar una prueba de emisiones, presente su solicitud en línea en español >

How to Participate in the Program

Step 1: Check eligibility requirements and apply online 

Step 2: Once approved, select an approved repair facility to help you get back on the road faster | View Facility List >

You pay $100 co-pay and the program pays up to $900 toward repairs and guarantees your vehicle will pass emissions testing. Additional repair costs above $1,000 are the responsibility of the vehicle owner.

Step 3:  Return your vehicle to any emissions testing station and pass your emissions test. Some approved repair facilities may even do this for you — be sure to ask!

Step 4: Renew your registration with ADOT | Visit Site >

Opting Out

If a repair facility provides its diagnosis and you decide not to proceed with repairs, you will be charged a $75 fee for diagnostic services to the repair facility. Your vehicle will no longer be eligible to participate in VVRP until the next time you need to register your car in Arizona.


Visit our frequently asked questions page to learn more | View FAQs >