Military Out of State Exemption
If you are active duty military, stationed outside of Arizona, you may qualify for a military out of state exemption.
This exemption is for vehicles that will not be in use. If the vehicle is to be driven by someone else, use the regular Out of State exemption.
To apply, you must complete and sign the application form below and obtain your Commanding Officer's signature.
Application must be made within 90 days prior to expiration of the current vehicle registration.
New Vehicle Exemption
Arizona exempts from emissions testing most vehicles of the newest five model years. In 2014, most 2010 and newer model year motor vehicles (except reconstructed vehicles) do not require an emissions test.
Vehicles Registered Outside of the Vehicle Emissions Control Areas (metro Phoenix and Tucson) in Partially Exempt Zip Codes
The Motor Vehicle Division exempts most vehicles registered outside the vehicle emissions control area based on the residence zip code. However, the zip codes listed below* are considered partial, meaning parts of the area require emissions and some parts are exempt.
*Partial Zip Codes in the Vehicle Emissions Control Areas (effective July 2009):
- Phoenix Metro Area - Area A:
85218/85118, 85226, 85232/85132, 85239/85139, 85242/85142, 85243/85143, 85244, 85262, 85263, 85290/85190, 85322, 85326, 85332, 85337, 85339, 85342, 85354, 85390
(Zip Codes separated by a slash (/) are in the process of being changed by the U.S. Postal Service)
- Tucson Metro Area - Area B:
85629, 85641, 85653, 85654, 85658, 85735, 85736, 85739, 85743, 85746, 85747
Vehicle owners who reside in a partial zip code will be identified as "emissions test required" on their vehicle registration renewal form.
Those vehicles may be granted an Out of Area (Status Code 52) Exemption if they are registered in that partial zip code and out of the emission control area boundary. However, if the vehicle is used to commute into the emissions test boundary (area A or area B) for employment or school then by State Law, the vehicle will be required to go through testing.
Note: This information is not targeted to just Maricopa and Pima Counties, but also parts of Pinal and Yavapai.
To verify this information, you may use our VEI Address Locator.
Complete the Emissions Exemption Form (Code 52) and submit to ADEQ or MVD with the rest of these requirements:
- Photocopy of current vehicle registration for each vehicle;
- Photocopy of a current utility bill in the name of the applicant, identifying the physical address of applicant's residence
- Photocopy of the property owner's tax evaluation notice listing the township, range and section of residence. If you do not own the property, we will require a lease/rental agreement.
Vehicles Out of State at Test Time
If your vehicle is out of state 90 days before your registration expires, you must do one of the following:
- If your vehicle is in an area that has an inspection program
You must have the vehicle tested there and submit a passing vehicle inspection report (not a copy) to the appropriate address listed below.
Include the report, a $9.50 check or money order (checks must be payable to ADEQ and have the imprinted name and physical in-state address
of the customer; no post office boxes), a copy of the Arizona registration and a self-addressed stamped envelope.
An Out of State exemption will be sent to you, which you must mail to the Motor Vehicle Division along with your registration renewal paperwork.
- If your vehicle is in an area that does not have an inspection program
You must request an out of state exemption by writing or calling ADEQ, or by downloading an affidavit for an
out of state exemption. You will receive a form that must be completed and returned to ADEQ. Include a $9.50
check or money order (checks must be payable to ADEQ and have the imprinted name and physical in-state address of the customer; no post
office boxes) and a self-addressed stamped envelope.
When approved, an Out of State exemption will be sent to you, which must be mailed to the Motor Vehicle Division, along with your
registration renewal paperwork.
Note: Out of State exemptions are valid for one year of registration.
If your vehicle is registered in the Phoenix area, mail passing test documents to:
Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program (VEIP)
600 North 40th Street
Phoenix, Arizona 85008
Or, if registered in the Tucson area:
Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program (VEIP)
4040 East 29th Street
Tucson, Arizona 85711